In Which Year Colonies Created The First Continental Congress?

As the colonies moved toward independence, the First Continental Congress was created in the year 1774.

This was actually a meeting of 12 of the 13 British American colonies’ delegates.

Except for the colony Georgia, all other 12 colonies participated here.

Georgia was suffering from some internal issues during that time. However, they participated in the Second Congress, the next year 1775.

The First Congress happened from the year 1774’s 5th September to 26th October.

As The Colonies Moved Toward Independence The First Continental Congress Was Created In

The First Continental Congress was the very first time when the colonies formally united together against the British Government’s unjust decisions.

Mainly the meeting organized in response to the British government imposing 5 Intolerable Acts.

The five acts were:

  • The Boston Port Act
  • Massachusetts Government Act
  • Administration of Justice Act
  • Quartering Act
  • Quebec Act

These acts were fully against colonists’ interests and hence they considered the acts as an act of revenge from the British authority.

Especially it was fully vengeful for the colony of Massachusetts.

Because the province was the center where the Boston Tea Party took place. The incident made huge economic losses to the British East India Company.

Hence, as a response to the incident, they imposed those 5 Intolerable Acts on colonists’ head.

But at the same time, as a counter-response to the Intolerable acts, colonies’ leaders organized the First Continental Congress.

Here, colonies’ delegates collectively decided that they would not accept these unjust anymore.

Finally, As a result, they also imposed some heavy economic sanctions against British goods.

The sanctions got huge success.

But how?

It significantly dropped the British goods’ import to the colonies by almost 97 percent.  

The following year, the ‘Battles of Lexington and Concord’ and the ‘Second Continental Congress’ completely kicked off the revolutionary war of America’s independence.


So, The 12 Participant British American Colonies Were

  • New Hampshire
  • Massachusetts
  • Connecticut
  • Rhode Island
  • New York
  • New Jersey
  • Pennsylvania
  • Delaware
  • Maryland
  • Virginia
  • North Carolina
  • South Carolina


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here