Second Continental Congress President

There were a total of 5 presidents, who served in the Second Continental Congress.

The five presidents’ names were:

  • Peyton Randolph (First)
  • John Hancock
  • Henry Laurens
  • John Jay
  • Samuel Huntington

The Second Continental Congress was formed on 10th May 1775 with the delegates from all the 13 British American colonies (Georgia participated from the July month)

Peyton Randolph was the first president of the meeting.

However, Randolph had to move back to Virginia after two weeks.

He had to go there to preside over the ‘House of Burgesses’. Hence, John Hancock had to enlist in the president position.

John Hancock served until October 29th, 1777.

After him, Henry Laurens came in the position and served till December 9th, 1778.

Then came John Jay from December 10th, 1778 to the 28th of September 1779.

Samuel Huntington was the last president, who served from 28th September 1779 to March 1st, 1781.

Second Continental Congress President

Introduction of The First Two Presidents of The Second Continental Congress

Peyton Randolph was one of the most influential leaders during the era of the American Revolution.

He served as president of the First and Second Continental Congress.

In the First Congress, he had to resign due to ill health before 4 days of the meeting end (October 22nd, 1774).

Along with the president of the Continental Congress, Randolph also served as the speaker of the House of Burgesses, Virginia State.

He died on October 22nd, 1775 due to an apoplexy stroke.

Many historians also want to consider Randolph as the first president of the United States of America; even though the 13 colonies still not yet independent. 

The second president was John Hancock.

John Hancock was a business person, statesman, and a patriotic leader of the American Revolution.

This person is mainly famous for his stylish signature in the Declaration of Independence.

He inherited Peyton Randolph in presiding the Second Continental Congress.

Hancock also served as the first and third governor of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

He died on October 8, 1793.

John Hancock signature
John Hancock & His Stylish Signature

Who Was The President of The Continental Congress When The Declaration of Independence Was Adopted?

It was John Hancock, who was presiding the Second Continental Congress when the historic document, the Declaration of Independence was adopted.

The document was adopted on 4th July 1776.

As president of Congress, he made the first sign on the document on August 2nd, 1776.

Amazing Fact: John Hancock Is Mainly Famous For His Stylish Bold Signature, Which He Made In Various Historic Document of The United States of America.


Can We Consider Peyton Randolph As The First President of The USA?

Technically, George Washington is the first president of the United States of America.

But different people have different viewpoints on this matter.

According to a group of historians, Peyton Randolph was the first president of the United States.

They believe it this way because Randolph served as the very first president of both Continental Congresses. 

Of course, there is no doubt that during the time, the Continental Congress worked as the government of the 13 colonies (Even though they were still under British rule).

By-the-way, whatever happened in history, but today, we consider George Washington as the first president of the country.

And I think there is nothing wrong with it because both of the persons are greatly respected in the United States.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here