What Did The Signers of The Declaration of Independence Want To Do?


What Did The Signers of The Declaration of Independence Want To Do?

All the signers of the Declaration of Independence wanted to make a formal declaration of the 13 British North American colonies’ independence from the Empire of Great Britain by signing in that historical document.

Secondly, by signing in that document, they also intended to change the course of the Revolutionary War.

The Second Continental Congress president, John Hancock, and his secretary Charles Thompson signed in that document on July 4th, 1776.

Most of the other delegates signed it on 2nd August 1776.

What Did The Signers of The Declaration of Independence Want To Do

But Why Did They Want Independence From The Empire of Great Britain?

Although Great Britain was the 13 colonies’ mother country, the British King and Parliament never treated colonists as their own citizens.

Contrary to this, they always intended to exploit them as much as possible.

In 1774, when exploitation and suppression crossed all the limits, the 13 colonies decided to revolt against the Britishers’ decisions.

After some major events and armed conflicts, finally, in 1776, 13 colonies’ delegates declared independence by signing in the Declaration of Independence.


Some Major Events That Provoked Congress’ Delegates Signing In The Declaration

  • Sugar Act (1764)
  • Stamp Act (1765)
  • Townshend Acts (1767-1768)
  • Boston Massacre (1770)
  • Tea Act (1773)
  • Intolerable Acts (1774)


Who Were The Signers of The Declaration of Independence?

  1. Thomas Stone (Maryland)
  2. Charles Carroll (Maryland)
  3. Samuel Chase (Maryland)
  4. William Paca (Maryland)
  5. William Hooper (North Carolina)
  6. John Penn (North Carolina)
  7. Joseph Hewes (North Carolina)
  8. Edward Rutledge (South Carolina)
  9. Arthur Middleton (South Carolina)
  10. Thomas Lynch, Jr. (South Carolina)
  11. Thomas Heyward, Jr. (South Carolina)
  12. George Read (Delaware)
  13. Caesar Rodney  (Delaware)
  14. Thomas McKean (Delaware)
  15. Stephen Hopkins (Rhode Island)
  16. William Ellery (Rhode Island)
  17. George Clymer (Pennsylvania)
  18.  Benjamin Franklin (Pennsylvania)
  19. Robert Morris (Pennsylvania)
  20.  John Morton (Pennsylvania)
  21. Benjamin Rush (Pennsylvania)
  22. George Ross (Pennsylvania)
  23.  James Smith (Pennsylvania)
  24.  James Wilson (Pennsylvania)
  25.  George Taylor (Pennsylvania)
  26.  John Adams (Massachusetts)
  27. Samuel Adams (Massachusetts)
  28.  John Hancock (Massachusetts)
  29.  Robert Treat Paine (Massachusetts)
  30.  Elbridge Gerry (Massachusetts)
  31. Samuel Huntington (Connecticut)
  32. Roger Sherman (Connecticut)
  33. William Williams (Connecticut)
  34. Oliver Wolcott (Connecticut)
  35. Abraham Clark (New Jersey)
  36. John Hart (New Jersey)
  37. Francis Hopkinson (New Jersey)
  38. Richard Stockton (New Jersey)
  39.  John Witherspoon (New Jersey)
  40. Richard Henry Lee (Virginia)
  41.  Francis Lightfoot Lee (Virginia)
  42.  Carter Braxton (Virginia)
  43.  Benjamin Harrison (Virginia)
  44.  Thomas Jefferson (Virginia)
  45.  George Wythe (Virginia)
  46.  Thomas Nelson, Jr. (Virginia)
  47.  Button Gwinnett (Georgia)
  48.  Lyman Hall (Georgia)
  49.  George Walton (Georgia)
  50.  Lewis Morris (New York)
  51.  Philip Livingston (New York)
  52.  Francis Lewis (New York)
  53.  William Floyd (New York) (New York)
  54. Josiah Bartlett (New Hampshire)
  55. William Whipple (New Hampshire)
  56. Matthew Thornton (New Hampshire)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here