Why Did The Colonists Call The Coercive Acts The Intolerable Acts?

If in Britain the five laws were called coercive acts then why did the colonists call it ‘Intolerable acts’?

Its main reason was, the British Parliament passed all those laws for their interest only.

But those laws were completely against the American colonists’ interests.

Why Did The Colonists Call The Coercive Acts The Intolerable Acts

Great Britain imposed all of them on colonists as a punishment of the Boston Tea Party.

But why they tried to punish them for the Boston Tea Party?

Actually, it caused heavy economic losses for the British East India Company.

Even though not all colonists involved in that incident but those acts targeted all the people of the colonies; especially Bostonians.

Colonists objected that Britain was trying to abrogate their rights as English people.

Because if they would consider them as English citizens, they wouldn’t even think to impose those acts on their heads like that.

So, this was why the colonists named the Coercive Acts as the Intolerable Acts.


How It Changed The Mindset of Colonists?

At very first, before these all problems began, most of the people of the 13 colonies considered themselves as British citizens; after all, Great Britain was their mother country.

Earlier they never thought that they would do a rebellion against their mother country for freedom.

In summary, they were quite happy as being English citizens.

But when the English Parliament brought these types of punitive laws to the 13 colonies to punish colonists, there was nothing left for them to understand that England had never been considering them as English citizens.

They understood very well that the 13 colonies were just a source of wealth and money for England, but not a part of them.

Hence, as a result, it provoked them to choose the path of rebellion and get freedom and form a new country of their own. 


What Were Those Coercive Acts?

  • Boston Port Act: This one closed all the trades through the Boston port, Massachusetts.
  • Massachusetts Government Act: This one transferred all the ruling power from Massachusetts local leaders’ to the hand of the royally appointed British governor.
  • Administration of Justice Act: This act indirectly allowed British officers to do crime in the colonies and ran away to other parts of the British Empire.
  • Quartering Act: This law again allowed British troops to find shelter in colonists’ private homes.
  • Quebec Act: Through the Quebec Act they tried to decrease the land area of America’s Midwest region.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here